13:59, 25 Feb 2015
Siranush Ghazanchyan

A special concert will take place on March 5 at the Jerusalem Theatre.

The Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of internationally
acclaimed Estonian violinist cum conductor Andres Mustonen, will
perform a program dedicated to the commemoration of the Centennial
of the Armenian Genocide, theJerusalem Post reports.

The JSO, in collaboration with the music festival Yerevan Perspectives
(Armenia), will perform music written by the foremost Armenian
composers, as well as Beethoven's "Eroica" Symphony.

Veteran Armenian composer Stepan Rostomyan, the initiator of the
concert, explains that the performance in Jerusalem is the first in
a series of international concerts.

"The Centennial of the Armenian Genocide will be noted by remarkable
concerts all over the world," he says. "Two dozen renowned musicians
will give memorial concerts in the world's most prestigious concert
halls through a series of concerts under the title "With you, Armenia,"
which will start in Israel. Further venues include St. John Church in
Tallinn; the Beaux Arts Palace in Brussels; the Mariinsky Theatre in
St. Petersburg; Carnegie Hall in New York; Santa Cecilia Hall in Rome;
Cadogan Hall in London; and Musikverein Hall in Vienna.

The roster of top-class musicians includes the Belgium National and La
Scala philharmonic orchestras; the Royal Philharmonic and Mariinsky
symphony orchestras; Camerata Salzburg; conductors Valery Gergiev,
Pinchas Zukerman, George Pehlivanian and John Axelrod; and soloists
Evgeny Kissin, Maxim Vengerov, Mischa Maisky, Julian Rachlin and
Sergei Nakariakov."

In regard to the Armenian Genocide, Rostomyan says that this tragic
page in his people's history is a wound that every Armenian bears in
his/her heart.

"This was not only the loss of human lives but also of our cities,
which are now in Turkey, and of our cultural monuments that were
destroyed," he says.

He stresses, "I have nothing against the Turkish people; I have
musician friends in Turkey. But the world - and Turkey in particular
on the governmental level - has to accept the fact that this terrible
thing happened at all. Otherwise, it can be repeated - and that is
the fear that every Armenian feels."

The program features the following pieces: Komitas's Fragments from
Liturgy (arranged for violin and orchestra by Andres Mustonen);
Rostomyan's Fourth Symphony; Adagio from the ballet Spartacus by Aram
Khachaturian; and Beethoven's Symphony No. 3, "Eroica."


From: A. Papazian