Central electoral commission of Armenia to report on voter activity in
Yerevan municipal elections every 3 hours

YEREVAN, May 31. /ARKA/. The Central Electoral Commission (CEC) of
Armenia will be informing about how active voters are in the municipal
elections in Yerevan every three hours, CEC Press Secretary Tatev
Ohanyan reported.

The reports will be made starting from 12:00 local time, she said
adding that vote count information will be communicated during the

Ohanyan said that electoral commissions started their work at 438
polling stations at 7:00 in the morning. The polling stations opened at

Municipal council elections are held in Yerevan today with 771,500
electors eligible to vote.

This is the first municipal council elections in the history of
Yerevan. Under the new law about local government of Yerevan, the
Municipal Council is to have 65 members. Number one in the list of the
party that gained absolute majority in the council automatically
becomes Mayor of Yerevan.

Party-ticket voting is to be used for the election of the Municipal
Council. Six political parties participate in the election - 3
coalitional parties (Republican Party of Armenia, Prospering Armenia
and Orinats Yerkir), Armenian Revolutionary Federation Dashnaktsutiun,
People's Party and Labor Socialist Party of Armenia and one political
block ` oppositional Armenian National Congress. `0--