Karabakh | 28.11.14 | 13:07

Azerbaijan has blacklisted two more foreign journalists for allegedly
"distorting the realities of the Karabakh conflict" after their film
about the region was shown on Ukrainian television earlier this month.

The Azerbaijani Embassy in Kyiv sent a note of protest to the Ministry
of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine over the program that was shown on the
local TV channel 1+1 on November 23 and was dedicated to Azerbaijan,
Armenia and the dispute over Nagorno-Karabakh.

The series of programs entitled "15 Republics" (of the former USSR)
in which a pair of journalists visits post-Soviet countries to try
to get first-hand experience of their current life. The first program
aired as part of the series was dedicated (apparently alphabetically)
to the two South Caucasus republics.

The authors of the program, journalists Konstantin Adriyuk and Dmitry
Volkov, visited the two republics as well as Nagorno-Karabakh. In the
part about Azerbaijan they do not conceal their irony about the cult
of Azerbaijan's late President Heydar Aliyev, while when presenting
Armenia they mostly speak about its cultural and historical heritage,
technological achievements, even though also showing some decrepit
Soviet-era constructions in provincial towns and also the square in
Spitak bearing the name of Ukraine's deposed leader Viktor Yanukovych.

Regarding Karabakh, the authors of the program make a reference
to the treaty that was signed at the beginning of the 20th century
between the Soviet Union and Turkey as the reason for the inclusion
of the region into Azerbaijan. "Because the territory of Azerbaijan
had already been captured by the Bolsheviks and Armenia was still
resisting, it was decided to incorporate Karabakh into Azerbaijan in
order to declare it Soviet territory as soon as possible. But during
the disintegration of the Soviet Union the issue of the disputed
territory again came to surface," the authors of the program say.

In its statement Azerbaijan's Foreign Ministry said "the authors of
the disgraceful program should be punished for the insults and lies
against Azerbaijan."

Azerbaijan's notorious "blacklist" of individuals declared as personae
non gratae in the country also includes a number of well-known
journalists. The list of more than 300 individuals - from politicians
to scholars and artists - mainly sanctions people for their recent
contacts with Karabakh without permission from Baku that still
considers the region to be its part. The list is commonly known as
the Montserrat Caballe List by the name of the world-renowned Spanish
operatic soprano who paid an "unauthorized" visit to Karabakh in 2013.


From: Emil Lazarian | Ararat NewsPress