Music from all Quarters

Narooma News, Australia
Sept 1 2004

Four international artists will bring a unique musical experience to
listeners in the Narooma Golf Club Auditorium, at 2pm this Saturday
September 4.

The Tavantinsuyu En-semble - the name means "The Four Corners of the
Earth" - comprises violin, clarinet, viola and piano. They have a
wide repertoire of works from many parts of the world, which reflects
their diverse backgrounds. Their performances have been acclaimed as
exciting and "not to be missed".

Ronald Woodcock (violin) has performed in over 89 countries, in
London, Paris, Vienna and Buenos Aires, and in remote centres such as
the Solomon Islands, Afghanistan, and Peru.

He studied at the Sydney Conservatorium, in Brussels on a Belgian
Government scholarship and in France with the great cellist Pablo

Graham Evans (clarinet), once a member of the famous Irish Guards
Band, won a scholarship to the Royal College of Music, London, had an
adventurous career with Britain's longest established chamber
orchestra, travelling throughout Europe and the United States, and
now performs and teaches in Brisbane.

Iola Shelley (piano), born in Wales, began piano lessons at four and
was the youngest student ever to receive the LRAM and ARCM Performing
Diplomas, aged 13.

She also studied cello, oboe and organ. She has an international
reputation as an accompanist and chamber music pianist, performing
with leading soloists from around the world

Louise Woodcock (viola) studied at the Capetown College of Music and
the Vienna Academy of Music. She has played with the Capetown and
Durban Symphony Orchestras, the Auckland Symphonia and the New Music
Group chamber ensemble, and was the founder of the Spring Chamber
Music School in Australia.

For this concert the Ensemble has chosen works ranging from the
romantic warmth of Max Bruch and the Latin American rhythms of
Salzedo to the intensity of Armenian composer Khachaturian, as well
as selections from George Gershwin's Porgy and Bess, New Zealand
composer Douglas Lilburn's moving violin and piano sonata and a short
piece by young Australian composer, Nigel Sabin.