03.09.2008 16:02

The sitting of the Committee of the Security Council Secretaries of the
Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) member-states (Armenia,
Russia, Belarus, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan)
opened in Yerevan today. Greeting the guests, Secretary of the National
Security Council of Armenia Arthur Baghdasaryan expressed hope that
that the sitting will be productive.

The participants discussed the trends of development of the
military-political situation in CSTO countries, the 2008-2009 program
of raising the effectiveness of the organization's further activity,
as well as issues targeted at neutralizing the challenges and threats
to collective security. The Secretaries of Security Councils of
SCTO member states discussed the package of documents targeted
at the formation of the system of neutralizing the challenges and
threats. An agreement on a privileged regime of training cadres for
law-enforcement bodies, fire ad rescue services, as well as special
services of the member states was signed.

Reference was made to the situation in South Ossetia. The participants
of the sitting were informed about the steps Russia is taking to
restore the ruined settlements in South Ossetia.

During the sitting Armenia assumed teh presidenc of teh Committee.